happinessrightnow

Happiness Is the Key to Attracting Everything

Wisdom

on November 27, 2011

From the time I was a little girl, I have loved the word wisdom.

I admit that I have done more unwise things in my lifetime than many of the people I know. Luckily people who make a lot of unwise decisions can actually garner wisdom from their poor choices when they make the decision to learn from their mistakes. True happiness can only happen when we decide to try to make the best possible decisions.

Wikipedia defines Wisdom as a deep understanding and realization of people, things, events or situations, resulting in the ability to apply perceptions, judgments and actions in keeping with this understanding.

In 2008 I put myself through an intensive mental health recovery program that I participated in every day for two solid years. That was the wisest thing I could have done for myself at the time. I started to see mental health as a spectrum that affects every single human being on earth. The spectrum goes from extreme mental illness (unhappiness) on one end to optimal human functioning on the other (true happiness). We all fluctuate along that spectrum as life’s ups and downs affect how we think and feel.

Wise people are able to stay closer to the optimal human functioning end of the happiness spectrum. That is because they have learned how to stay centered in their hearts when life throws them curve balls. The power to stay calm and focused in times of trial allows one to attract more and more positive experiences into their lives. When you are calm and centered, you are capable of making the wisest decisions. Making wise decisions, acting on them and following through leads to happiness.

During the two-year time period that I underwent a mental health recovery, I wrote a lot of poetry, songs and essays. I’m going to leave you with a poem I wrote during that time called:

Mommy What Is Wisdom?
By Tammy Kevwitch, June 6, 2009

Mommy, what is wisdom? My child asked me today.
I stopped what I was doing, as I thought of what to say.
It’s when you listen with your mind and feel what’s in your heart
It’s a type of understanding that transcends just being smart.

It’s what you get when you really “get it.” It’s intuitive for sure.
You are given it at birth. It’s for the simple and the pure.
Wisdom is a form of both Love and comprehending.
It’s a powerful result of a deep soul understanding.

It loves to be imparted between a child and a mother.
It’s grateful to be shared between a sister and a brother.
A father also has a lot of wisdom he can share
To his family and to those for whom he cares.

Many of the wisest people on this earth today
Garner wisdom when they take the time to pray.
There are many among us who are very, very wise.
They’ve discovered such a great and worthy prize.

If your mind can be still through life’s many ups and downs.
You’ll live with lots of smiles and not so many frowns.
Then I took my child by the hand and said let’s sit still together.
Let’s just notice what we’re feeling while we contemplate the weather.

So here we sit, hand in hand, in tune with one another.
As we watch the rain and listen to the thunder.

Leave a Reply

